Atorneys have had the possibility to assist as real estate agents since the Law Hoguet of January 2, 1970, to which the Bar of Paris, in its April 21, 2009 session, became the first to provide specific guidelines for implementation by attorneys wishing to develop this domain of practice, through the adoption of a new article P.6.2.0.4 as well as annex XV to the Internal Regulations of the Bar of Paris.

 

First, the Law Hoguet of January 2, 1970 regulates activities related to certain operations connected to real estate and business, essentially targeting real estate agents. The professional real estate agent should carry out his/her activity complying with the necessary conditions under the law. Nevertheless, the Law Hoguet also regulates the terms of the attorney’s involvement in real estate matters outside of his/her domain since this law. Attorneys can have a subsidiary practice as agents in real estate transactions. An attorney does not need to fulfill the conditions required of a real estate agent in order to assist in real estate transactions in consideration of the control to which their professional activity subject, as well as the financial guaranties which it offers for the practice of this activity (art. 2(2) of the Law of January 2, 1970). While French notaries started practicing this activity in 1982, attorneys have to date remained more reserved, given the activity’s commercial nature.

 

The Bar of Paris finally adopted, in its April 21, 2009 session, the new article P.6.2.0.4 of the Internal Regulations of the Bar of Paris, which specify that the activity of the attorney as an agent in real estate transactions should constitute for the attorney only an ancillary activity. Annex XV of the Internal Regulations of the Bar of Paris, adopted at the same session, specifies the terms of application of the activities of the attorney as an agent in real estate transactions.

 

The Conseil national des Barreaux considered on February 5th and 6th of last year that this mission as an agent in real estate transactions does enter into the scope of permissible activity open to the attorney.

 
 

CONTACT US / LEGAL DISCLAIMER
Powered by CotelDesign

Les avocats ont la possibilité d’intervenir comme mandataires en transaction immobilières depuis la loi Hoguet du 2 janvier 1970 dont le Conseil de l’Ordre des avocats à la Cour de Paris, en sa séance du 21 avril 2009, est venu le premier préciser les modalités d’intervention par l’adoption d’un nouvel article P.6.2.0.4 ainsi que l’annexe XV du Règlement intérieur du Barreau de Paris.

 

Tout d’abord la loi Hoguet du 2 janvier 1970 est venue réglementer les activités relatives à certaines opérations portant sur les immeubles et les fonds de commerce, et vise essentiellement les agents immobiliers. Professionnel de l’immobilier, l’agent immobilier doit, pour exercer son activité remplir certaines conditions requises par la loi. Cependant, la loi Hoguet vient également réglementer les modalités d’intervention de l’avocat en matière immobilière en le plaçant hors de son champ d’application depuis cette loi. Les avocats peuvent exercer à titre accessoire l’activité de mandataire en transactions immobilières. Un avocat n’a pas à remplir les conditions requises pour l’agent immobilier pour faire de l’intermédiation immobilière « en considération du contrôle dont leur activité professionnelle fait l’objet ainsi que des garanties financières qu’ils offrent pour l’exercice de cette activité » (article 2, alinéa 2 de la loi du 2 janvier 1970). Alors que les notaires ont commencé à exercer cette activité en 1982, les avocats sont restés plus réservés sur cette activité s’interrogeant sur son aspect commercial.

 

Le Conseil de l’Ordre des avocats à la Cour de Paris a enfin adopté, en sa séance du 21 avril 2009, le nouvel article P.6.2.0.4 du Règlement intérieur du Barreau de Paris qui précise que l’activité d’avocat mandataire en transactions immobilières doit constituer pour l’avocat une activité accessoire. L’annexe XV du Règlement intérieur du Barreau de Paris, adopté lors de la même séance, est venu préciser les modalités d’application de l’activité d’avocat mandataire en transactions immobilières.

 

Le Conseil national des Barreaux a considéré le 5 et 6 février dernier que cette mission de mandataire en transactions immobilières entre dans le champ d’activité des avocats.

 
 

CONTACT / MENTIONS LEGALES
Powered by CotelDesign